Saddle for ASHLA classes

Go down

Saddle for ASHLA classes

Post  mel4 on Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:36 am

Hi, is there any one on here that competes in the ASHLA classes at stock horse shows. I am hopefully one day going to compete in ASHLA classes and am wanting to know what type of saddle do I look for? What brand, make are the best? I am not wanting to spend a great deal and would be most likely looking for a second hand one. Also does anyone show their ASHs English style? I havnt seen many people that have but I am wanting to show at Ag shows as well as ASH shows and I want to be competitive in both. Or does anyone compete their ASHs at Ag shows in the stock horse gear? I have competed at Ag shows locally for many years but I am new to the ASH showing so any advice would be great.
Cheers Melissa
mel4

Back to top Go down

Re: Saddle for ASHLA classes

Post  SBMN on Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:04 am

I've competed in both types of attire.

For ASHLA you need Aussie gear. Stock saddle. Either moleskins or jodhpurs allowed, however no jackets. You must wear a green V neck jumper. Has to be snaffle bit. Its judged on both horse and rider- confo, temperament, turnout and rider ability. You'll be expected to do W/T/C/hand gallop, haunch turns/roll backs etc, simple change and a fly, halt, and its possible (depending on the show) there will be time time trial equipment chucked in there (weaving through 'trees' etc). At a proper stock horse show its marked using a sheet, sort of like dressage. Usually at ag shows its more of a standard hack class though.